Premiere Performances of Hong Kong (Premiere Performances) announces today the return of Chinese guitarist Xuefei Yang (楊雪霏) to their recital series. The star guitarist will be playing a colourful and virtuosic programme of Chinese, Spanish and Latin guitar repertoire on 30 November 2021 (Tuesday) 7:30pm at Hong Kong City Hall Concert Hall.

Selected as one of Classic FM’s “100 Best Artists of Our Time” and BBC Music Magazine‘s “Six of the best classical guitarists”, Xuefei Yang is the first internationally recognised Chinese guitarist on the world stage. The acclaimed guitarist has made appearances in over 50 countries at numerous prestigious venues including Wigmore Hall (London), Philharmonie (Berlin), Concertgebouw (Amsterdam), Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Centre (New York City).

Gramophone magazine praised Xuefei as “one of the leading innovators of her generation for continuing to build the guitar repertoire”. For her Hong Kong recital, in addition to her signature Spanish and Latin guitar repertoire, Xuefei also pays homage to her homeland with her own beautiful arrangements of traditional Chinese melodies lesser known to the Western guitar community.  She brings a fresh perspective to Chinese music, as well as opening a door to new repertoire for the guitar.

Despite the strict travel restrictions that are still in effect in Hong Kong, Premiere Performances has still been able to present a full recital series in 2021 with artists from abroad and at home, including pianists David Greilsammer, Alexander Ullman, Zee Zee, Chiyan Wong, Rachel Cheung and clarinettist Gilad Harel. Guitarist Xuefei Yang’s recital marks the perfect end to the 2021 Recital Series. The recitals were made possible by collaborations with local orchestras to provide these artists with more performance opportunities in Hong Kong, making their quarantine worthwhile.

For this recital, Xuefei Yang has been invited through a collaboration with the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra. Xuefei Yang will also be performing with the HK Phil on 10 & 11 Dec in “Xuefei Yang | Sketches of Spain”. Book both concerts at URBTIX to enjoy a 10% discount.


Xuefei Yang Guitar Recital: Crossing Borders

Chinese Traditional (arr. Yang) A Moonlit Night on the Spring River(《春江花月夜》)
Changjun XU (arr. Yang) Sword Dance (《劍器》)
Xuefei YANG Xinjiang Fantasia (《新疆幻想曲》) 

RODRIGO Invocacion y Danza
Juan MARTÍN Zambra Mora
Francisco TARREGA Carnival of Venice

Latin America
MERLÍN Suite del Recuerdo
BONFA Manhã de Carnaval
JOBIMA  Felicidade
REIS Eterna Saudade
Garôto” SARDINHA Lamentos de Morro
Paco PEÑA El Nuevo Dia (Colombiana)

30 November 2021 (Tuesday) 7:30pm
Concert Hall, Hong Kong City Hall
$480 $320 $180

Tickets available now on URBTIX, art-mate and